From a lot of distance to a little distance

Danny came home from deployment in July and I am so happy that he made it home safe and sound. The deployment was hard but we made it through and adjusted to the distance and made it work. I try to look back and remember the seven months of worry and long distance relationship that we went through because now I catch myself complaining about not spending enough time with him now – and we live together.

Danny works nights and I work days; so we are on completely opposite schedules. By the time he is home from work I’ve already been at work for an hour or so and when I get home he’s still sleeping. So unless he forgoes sleep we don’t spend any time together on the days we both work-maybe thirty minutes.

We try to make sure that we have time together when we don’t work and that we plan some fun things to do. When I start getting frustrated about how little time we have together and our schedules I just remind myself that he could be overseas instead.

So this is my little rant for the day – I’m writing it as I’m doing work around the house and Danny is sleeping because he works again tonight.
All in all I think we’re handling it well though, no frustration is taken out on each other and no blame is made.

I’m still so glad to have him home and to live together and get married.

Leave a Reply

