The Legend of the Seventh Virgin by Victoria Holt

I just finished reading this book; written in the 1960’s by Victoria Holt – who is actually a pen name.

This book follows Kerensa who lives with her grandmother and younger brother in Victorian Cornwall.
It follows her life as she grows and becomes a worker in a well off/well known home.

The-Legend-of-the-Seventh-Virgin

One message from this book: money is not everything.
Kerensa is basically obsessed with money and becoming prominent in society. This is what fuels her to create the life she wants.
But she is a bitch. Acting like she’s caring for a friend when she’s more concerned with putting herself ahead.
I loved to hate her. And yet at the same time I caught myself rooting for the same things she was.
It ends with a good lesson-one I already knew.

I don’t remember where I got this book from. I’ve had it since I was around twelve years old and I just now read it all the way through. I tried before but I couldn’t get into it. Looking back at myself when I was twelve I totally understand why I never was able to get too far in it. I decided to pick it up again because I needed something to read and went to the library one day with no luck.

All in all I would recommend this book if you are interested in historical fiction.

Leave a Reply

