Rocking Chair Cushion & Pillow

I’ve wanted a rocking chair forever!!! I was always looking for them online and in stores but it seemed to me like the ones I liked cost an arm and a leg and I couldn’t fathom spending that much on one wooden chair. So I just gave up looking and hoped one would just show up – and it kind of did. Danny’s godfather is a big into picking/going through peoples’ garbage. He’s retired and this is one of his hobbies. He goes out on trash days to what you could call really well off neighborhoods and he gets the furniture out. He gives most of it away to people who refurnish them or he does it himself. So we’ve ended up with a bunch of nice, free furniture. It doesn’t all match obviously but with us just starting out we’re really lucky to have someone who gives us so much awesome stuff.

So he knew that I had been looking for one and scooped up this for me!

IMG_0799

All it needed was a cushion. It has a lock on it to keep it from rocking when not being used
and it is literally in perfect condition.

I can’t believe some of the things people throw away!

IMG_0794

I’ve never made a cushion before. The only thing close to that is covering pillows.
So I just decided to wing it.

I picked out the fabric and grabbed a piece of foam.

I cut the foam to fit the chair and covered it – same with the pillow.

And ta-da!

IMG_0800  IMG_0801

I finally have a rocking chair and I love it!!!

IMG_0805 IMG_0806

Leave a Reply

